Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

ALTER-Net: A Long-Term Biodiversity, Ecosystem and Awareness Research Network

Europe’s ecosystem research network


You are here: Home / About us / Management Board: who's who

Management Board: who's who

About the ALTER-Net Management Board

    The ALTER-Net Secretariat is supported by the Management Board (MB). Each board member had responsibility for one activity area. The Management Board's main function is to deliver ALTER-Net's annual action plan. Specific activities may be led by project leaders who report to the MB. The Management Board meets approximately 3-4 times per year. The Board may make recommendations to Council.

    New members of the Management Board were agreed in 2020. They are shown below. Thank you to all MB members (past and present) for your hard work!

    Management Board members from April 2014

    Chair: Jiska van Dijk, NINA, Norway

    Jiska van Dijk

    Vice-chair: Allan Watt, UKCEH, UK

    Allan Watt

    Secretariat: Tyler Kulfan, ALTER-Net,
    UfZ, Germany

    tsk headshot

    Secretariat: Tessa van Santen, INBO, Belgium

    Tessa van Santen


    Management Board members:

    Communication Andrew Sier, CEH, UK
    Adriana Clivillé Morató, CREAF, Barcelona, Spain 
    Summer School Allan Watt, UKCEH, UK & Sonja Jähnig, IGB, Germany
    Alternet Conference Sonja Jaehnig, IGB, Germany
    Alternet High Impact Actions (AHIA) Philip Roche, INRAE, France
    Multi-Site Research Joan Pino, CREAF, Spain

    Biodiversity research infrastructure / LTER

    Petteri Vihervaara, SYKE, Finland

    Science-Policy Interface (SPI)

    Juliette Young, UKCEH, UK; UfZ, Germany
    Eklipse Marie Vandewalle, UFZ, Germany
    Collaboration on international calls and tenders Mart Külvik, EMU, Estonia